Musical Monday

A question posed itself on one of the websites I frequent a few days ago: do you enjoy listening to video game soundtracks?

Ever since a fairly young age I have appreciated how much a good soundtrack can add to a gaming experience and, conversely, how much a not-so-good soundtrack can take away from said experience. In the past few years I’ve also come to realise how much more enjoyable some of life’s more mundane tasks become when listening to some of my favourite game’s music. Why, even now I’m listening to one of my favourite game’s soundtracks — not to say blogging is mundane, because it certainly isn’t, but to state how habitual it has become for me.

Because I have such a fondness for game music, I thought this idea of a series about my favourite soundtracks would be a nice addition to my blog. So each Monday from today I will be picking a game and posting about the songs that have a special place in my memory.

After spending a while over the weekend thinking about which game should have the honour of going first, I figured where better to start than with the game where it all began as a game-loving 10-year-old: Metal Gear Solid. Before playing this game I would often turn off any background music, but the very first song that played in Metal Gear would guarantee that I would never be doing it with this game. Known as ‘The Best is Yet to Come’ it first plays as Snake makes his entrance into the Shadow Moses base. I’d never heard anything like it before, and it  managed to reach out and grab me almost effortlessly.

The second time this song made an appearance it had an even more powerful effect on me. In the later stages of the game you meet Sniper Wolf for an ultimately final confrontation. After the dust of battle has settled this song plays once again as Snake speaks to Sniper Wolf before she succumbs to her mortal injuries. I can’t remember what they say, but I know it was depressing. How do I know this you ask? Well, because it was the first time the events of a game had brought me to tears. Every playthrough after that I skipped this particular cut scenes whilst wishing there was a way to progress without having to end Sniper Wolf’s life. Have I cried because of a game since then? Well my good readers, that’s a secret!

There are many other great songs in the soundtrack, but this next song deserved a mention for being the only song I’ve ever played through almost an entire game just to listen to — a title it is almost certain to keep thanks to YouTube. It is of course ‘Rex’s Lair’:

After making your way through a room which honestly has more CCTV cameras than even an extreme case of paranoia could explain you find yourself at the end of a short corridor, which opens out onto a cavernous warehouse. This music plays, and you find yourself standing head-to-toe with Metal Gear Rex itself. It does a brilliant job of reinforcing how powerful Metal Gear is and how hopeless the situation Snake finds himself seems.

Now it’s over to you guys. Do you find yourself listening to game soundtracks when you’re not gaming? What are you favourites? Please share them in the comments, and as always, thanks for reading.

[Video credits: Uploaded by alvaroduck]

About Stephan

Third-year chemistry undergraduate. I'm not sure why I did it to myself. :P https://formulamagician.wordpress.com

Posted on December 12, 2011, in General Gaming, Musical Monday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

