Musical Monday V – some forgiveness required

As I look back at the games that have entered my life over the nineteen years of gaming I have enjoyed I can easily recall many fond memories which will always stay with me, and I will certainly still look back on with a smile long into the future. From my beginnings helping my Grandad complete some of the puzzles in Pushover and working my way through the timeless classic Lemmings, to finally picking up the platinum trophy in Wipeout HD and completing Mile High Club on veteran in Call of Duty 4 after losing my will to continue on more than one occasion. During my time writing my Musical Monday posts I have enjoyed going back to some of these games that have left me with fond memories and celebrating them through their music. For this episode though I wanted to do something a little different. I wanted to shine the spotlight on two of the games that I have been meaning to play for some time, but have yet to do so. I do ask in advance for your forgiveness for the second game I’m going to mention.

I can think of only one game to start this week’s selection off, and that is The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. Ever since I took a friend’s advice and bought Oblivion back in the winter of 2008 I have loved this series. This was one of the first role-playing games that I had experienced, and I am so glad I did. Fast forward a few thoroughly enjoyable months and the same friend said that they had recently turned their attention to Morrowind. This conversation planted the seed of thought in my mind, and after taking a moment to look into it, I decided that I too would like to experience this game. Whilst I am yet to play Morrowind myself I did find myself deciding to search for a ‘let’s play’ on Youtube one quiet afternoon last summer. After a little bit of searching I settled down to watch one by GixG17. He had taken the same step back from Oblivion to Morrowind that I was planning to take, which allowed me to relate to his comments about the game and experience easily. His commentary and self-made interactions with the NPCs also added a very interesting and entertaining aspect to the videos and simply made the play through a pleasure to watch. I loved listening to the music playing in the background whilst watching his videos, and quickly found myself searching for it to listen to the soundtrack in all its glory. Relaxing and upbeat, it’s the sort of music that I could easily lose hours of my day listening to. I love all of the Elder Scrolls’ soundtracks, but I think Morrowind’s might just take first place if you asked me for my favourite. Since my recent return to PC gaming early last week I have decided that the time has come to finally experience this brilliant game for myself, so I’ve made a note to buy it at some point in the coming weeks.

The second game, or more accurately, series in today’s spotlight also needs no introduction. It has received almost universal critical acclaim since its first appearance as a part of The Orange Box back in 2007. It is, of course, the Portal franchise. I honestly have no good excuse for why these two games have not made it into my collection, especially when a quick search of the internet shows I can pick up both The Orange Box and Portal 2 for less than Β£15 each. Both have been on the list of games I want to buy for some time, and I know that I will definitely enjoy playing them as I do love a good puzzler. It wasn’t until me and my college friend were discussing some of our favourite gaming music from times gone by and he brought these games up that I realised how good the Portal soundtracks are. I love them! Especially the two credit themes. I am planning to correct this issue of not owning either of these games in the coming weeks, but in the meantime the soundtracks are doing a brilliant job of keeping me entertained.

That’s all for Musical Monday this week. I’d like to give a huge thank you to my sister Kirsty, who possesses a graphic design ability that I can only dream of, for designing my new Musical Monday banner. Thank you to you guys as always for stopping by and having a read. I hope to add a touch of variety to my content here between now and next week, when Musical Monday will return to celebrate some of my favourite Nintendo DS game soundtracks. It seems only fitting considering that’s what I’ve been listening to while writing this week’s post.

[Video credits: Morrowind – TurinMroczny, Portal 2 – TheMediaCows, Portal – OverTheGun]

About Stephan

Third-year chemistry undergraduate. I'm not sure why I did it to myself. :P https://formulamagician.wordpress.com

Posted on July 16, 2012, in General Gaming, Musical Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I feel like you can put some of the music to Morrowind or Skyrim to anything you do and it will sound epic. That and any John Williams and you just feel like you’re doing the absolute coolest thing that has ever existed in the history of the world haha!

    • Completely agree with you there. I love listening to John Williams’ music too, especially his Harry Potter soundtrack. Sheer brilliance. πŸ™‚

  2. Morrowind is amazing! One of my all time favorites.

    • Thank you for commenting. It certainly is amazing. I picked it up in the Steam sale earlier today, so I’m looking forward to experiencing it myself over the next few weeks. πŸ™‚

      • Have you never completed it? You won’t be disappointed! It’s my favorite Elder Scrolls game. I can throw you a few general tips, including how to be virtually invincible, via game mechanics only, you can do it through enchanting very early. I can throw out a couple of other tips if you want as well, I haven’t playd it in years, but I remember several little things.

        • Thank you for that offer. I would certainly appreciate some hints and tips. πŸ™‚

          From what I’ve seen in the let’s play I’ve been watching enchanting does have a lot more potential than it ever seemed to be given in Oblivion and Skyrim. I’ll definitely be making a start on it either this evening or tomorrow – can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

